Food Industry

The safety of the products produced in the Food Business, refers to all those risks which can make the food harmful to the health of the consumer.

ISO 22000 Standard

The ISO 22000 is the most popular voluntary international food safety standard in the food industry with 39,651 certified sites (according to the ISO 2019 Survey). The ISO 22000 family is an international voluntary consensus standard aligned with the principles of the World Trade Organization (WTO) for the Development of International Standards. Defining the requirements for a Food Safety Management System (FSMS) and incorporating the following elements as defined as FSMS principles:

  • Interactive communication
  • System management
  • Prerequisite programs
  • HACCP principles

Critical reviews of the above data have been conducted by many scientists. Communication along the food chain is essential to ensure that all relevant food safety hazards are adequately identified and controlled at every step of the food chain. This involves communication between organisms both upstream and downstream in the food chain. Communicating with customers and suppliers about identified risks and control measures will help clarify customer and supplier requirements.

Recognition of the role and position of the organism within the food chain is necessary to ensure effective interactive communication throughout the chain, in order to deliver safe food to the consumer.

ISO 22000 and HACCP

ISO 22000 has two Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) cycles that operate within each other, the first covering the management system, the second the functions (described in ISO 22000: 2018, Chapter 8), which cover at the same time the principles of HACCPISO 22000 refers to the General Principles of Food Hygience of Codex Alimentarius, CXC 1-1969 which includes HACCP and 12 steps of HACCP implementation. A study on HACCP effectiveness between ISO 22000 certified and non-certified dairy companies found that with the enactment of the HACCP Food Safety System (FSS) and ISO 22000 certification, the level of HACCP objectives fulfillment significantly improved.

ISO 22000 and FSSC 22000

ISO 22000 is also used as the basis for the Food Safety Systems Certification System (FSSC) FSSC 22000. FSSC 22000 is an approved Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) program, also referred to as a Certification Program (CPO) holder. The differences between ISO 22000 and GFSI-recognized systems are explained in a document from ISO, International Standards and Private Standards.

ISO 9001 and ISO 22000

Compared to an ISO 9001 Quality Management System, the Food Safety Management System is a standard (ISO 22000: 2005 version) that was a more process-oriented guidance than a principles-based one. The 2018 revision (ISO 22000: 2018) addressed this by including the general ISO management principles, which are also referred to as Quality Management Principles. In addition, ISO 22000 is a specific industrial risk management system for every type of food safety that includes agriculture, processing, manufacturing, catering, storage and distribution. ISO 22000 is designed using the High Level ISO (HLS) structure, also referred to as Annex SL, to be integrated with other ISO Management Systems (MSS) Standards, including the ISO 9001 Quality Management System, ISO 14001 Environmental Management System and Occupational Health & Safety Management System ISO 45001. Detailed similarities, differences and combined results of the two standards (ISO 9001, ISO 22000) can be found elsewhere.

Find out about the Food Safety Management System that will meet the needs of your business:

  • HACCP: Codex Alimentarius
  • ISO 22000: Food Safety Management System
  • FSSC 22000: Food Safety System Certification 22000
  • IFS: International Food Standard
  • BRC: Food Technical Standard

Επιχειρήσεις Τροφίμων