Halal Certification

Πιστοποίηση Halal – Αναλύσεις Τροφίμων

The Arabic word halal is translated as "permissible" by Islamic law and refers to both objects and deeds. At the nutritional level, Halal foods are those that are permissible according to the Qur'an. On the contrary, the "impermissible" are called Haram. These terms are widely used in relation to food products, meat products, food ingredients and food contact materials.

Food companies whose products are intended for consumption by the Muslim population can be certified for the suitability of their processes and products.

Η Central Certification μπορεί να σας παρέχουν τις απαραίτητες χημικές αναλύσεις για τον xαρακτηρισμό & πιστοποίηση Halal προϊόντων, όπως:

  • Detection of pork tissue in meat products

  • Quantification of alcohol in food and beverages

Our specialized staff is able to provide you with additional consulting support for the certification of the Halal system of your business.

Foods considered Haram

In general, any food is considered Halal in Islam, unless specifically prohibited by the Qur'an. Some examples of illicit (Haram) foods are:

  • Pork, bacon, ham and any pork product

  • Alcoholic beverages and intoxicants

  • Non-Halal animal fat or butter or other fat used in confectionery or bread making

  • Enzymes * (Microbial enzymes are allowed)

  • Gelatin * - from non-Halal source (fish gelatin is Halal)

  • L-cysteine (if derived from human hair)

  • Lard

  • Lipase * (only animal lipase should be avoided)

  • Meat broth of unspecified origin

  • Animal rennet (All forms should be avoided except vegetable / microbial / synthetic - rennet obtained from animals slaughtered according to Halal principles is permissible).

  • Carnivores, birds of prey and some other animals

  • Foods contaminated with any of the above products

(* Can be consumed if it comes from Halal animals.)

Muslims are only allowed to eat meat that has been prepared according to Islamic law. In the meat and poultry industry, animals such as cows, calves, lambs, sheep, goats, turkeys, chickens, ducks, game birds, bison, venison, etc., are considered Halal, but must be prepared in accordance with Islamic law in order to their meat is fit for consumption. Fish and seafood (with the exception of crocodiles, alligators and frogs) are generally acceptable to Muslims. But the preparation of fish or seafood should not include alcohol (eg wine or anything considered Haram). Of course, in times of need, forbidden things may be allowed (Halal) for the duration of the emergency, as Islam prioritizes life over death.

Islam also places great emphasis on the way in which an animal's life ends, which must comply with Islamic regulations. The slaughter process has specific specifications that must be followed to be considered Halal meat. This is because according to Islamic law if the life of an animal is to end for the survival of man, then his life must be taken only in the name of God.